go to sections menu

new dropbox rules from blog The Technology blog and podcast

This is for the technology blog and podcast Commentary, articles, and podcasts

header picture for Ingegno theme

You are here: general-updates-and-announcements > new dropbox rules

Go to Homepage, contents or to navigation menu



new dropbox rules

This is a coppy of a post I put on lists about dropbox, I will replicate it on my blog to.

From march this year, all basic accounts are limited to 3
devices.

What does that mean?

Nothing, except that dropbox remembers every device and session
ever made.

So you reformat your computer or change your account name, or
get another computer and don’t unlink first, your device becomes
a ghost device same with app programs, and brouser sessions.

1.  sign into dropbox.

The easiest way to do this is to login with your own client,
click the tray icon and launch dropbox.

Now near the top of the page is a menu called my account hit
space on that, scroll down to settings, hit shift space to exit
forms mode then hit enter.

Don’t move about else things will just not work right.

Now dropbox settings load.

hit control home for the top of the page then h.

2.  select security tab, in the same way, enter forms mode once
you scroll down to the list of tabs, and locate security.

get out of forms mode and hit enter.

Next control home again.

then hit t.

3.  The next thing to do is locate every session in the first
table which has an end session button it and hit the space bar
till they are all gone.

Next  locate the device tree which is directly below the brouser
treeview.

The first device in the list is your device.

scroll to the end of that list.

Every device you have ever linked including every ghost device
linked in the past will exist, I had 6, my dad had 2.

Hit unlink button on all the devices bar the one that says its
been modified in the last hour.

Every other device will have a time when it was last valid.

Finally go through the steps of going to my account, then
settingss however next select the connected apps view.

Then disconnect every app you don’t use and service.

If you need to link devices take note of the devices you want to
connect.

A basic user can connect up to 3 devices.

Those can be a computer, a phone and one other device or 3
computers.

You can buy, but to be honest, if you get this warning and are
only using 1 device, then you probably have a lot of ghost
devices.

I’d also update your password at this time if you have forgotten
it if you havn’t allready.

I’d also check to see if you know what all the devices you have
are, if you find something you don’t know, then chances are
someone has hacked your account or you linked to a device
somewhere else.

In a way this while annoying is good in a way.

I had no idea dropbox kept all devices from all reformats and
all times I had changed dropbox.

I had 6 devices, 1 is my device I had.

The next one before that was my old win7 device which I may
relink later.

The rest were my win7 and xp devices and their reformats
including profile changes etc.

My apps were not needed ones and I clobbered them.

As for my brouser sessions including the current one there were
19 others which were still signed in from devices that were no
longer active.

In the case of my dad’s system, there were 2 devices, the
current one, and an older instance of the same device which
existed before it, its good to know that I was able to kill
things.

Now I know about this, if I need to reformat my first thing
after I get back in is to kill the ghost devices that linger
inactive after the fact.

This actually is a good reason to check security on my account
if anything else.

Its worth noting that if you need more space and upgrade you
won’t have to bother with this though even if you do knowing
what I had, its worth looking at the site anyway.

I didn’t need all those 20 sessions logged in at once, nore did
I need the 6 devices 4 of which were ghosts of old linked
devices and one which is not on the network.

I guess knowing that I could link that one but even so I will be
carefull to check every linked system I service to make     sure
its all clear of stuff that shouldn’t be on it.


Informazioni sull'articolo

new dropbox rules was released on April 13, 2019 at 11:31 am by crashmaster in general-updates-and-announcements.
Last modified: April 13, 2019.


Comments Off on new dropbox rules

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

go to sections menu


navigation menu

go to sections menu